Rosemary Stuffed Bacon-Wrapped Lamb with Gorgonzola

Vegetarians beware: this recipe is meaty to say the least. This dish was dreamt up as I was walking through Whole Foods this weekend. First stop – check out their cuts of lamb, of course. I picked up a good amount of shoulder blade chops, asked the man behind the counter for some string, and walked over to cheese heaven. When melting on a steak (be it beef or lamb), I usually go with a soft cheese – goat, gorgonzola, or stinky blue. Since I knew I’d be packing a punch of other flavors this time around, I went for a creamy gorgonzola. Next up: the herbs. I was deciding between mint and rosemary and opted for the latter. Lastly, the bacon. Honestly, it doesn’t really matter what kind of bacon you pick out, as long as it isn’t cured or sweet, and is long enough to wrap around your chops.

  • 1.5 lb. lamb chops (I used shoulder blade)
  • 5 sprigs fresh rosemary
  • 1 tbsp garlic, minced
  • 6 strips bacon, uncooked
  • 1/4 lb. gorgonzola
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 ft. string
  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Meanwhile, cover chops in salt and pepper (both sides). Next, cut rosemary sprigs in half and use at least two for each side of each chop.
  3. Carefully wrap bacon around each chop, securing the rosemary in place.
  4. Tie string around bacon to keep it all in place. Cover with minced garlic, and you’re ready to cook!
  5. Cook for 35-45 minutes (depending on how thick your chops are), flipping over halfway through.  I’d say when the bacon is crispy, your chops are ready. 
  6. With 5 minutes to go in the oven, top with gorgonzola.
  7. Remove from oven, cut string, remove rosemary stems, and enjoy!

¡Buen apetito!

4 thoughts on “Rosemary Stuffed Bacon-Wrapped Lamb with Gorgonzola

  1. This looks great! I think I’d try to cut the string before putting on the gorgonzola, otherwise I think I’d make a mess once the cheese is melted. I’m putting this on my ‘to cook’ list!

    • Hi Hedy,

      Thanks for checking out The Coastal Countertop! I agree – the last step can get messy with the gorgonzola. If you’d like, go ahead and remove the stems AND string prior to melting on the cheese. Good luck with the dish- it’s amazing! Let me know how it is.

      TCC

      • I made this last night (only I used pork chop instead of lamb) and it came out amazing! Thanks for the recipe, I’ll be making it more often. Hubby loved it too!

Leave a comment